quick note: these are undeveloped thoughts that I will throw out for us to wrestle with.


I am becoming more and more convinced that SAFETY is becoming one of the most effective thieves to living an authentic Christian life.
A classmate just shared his struggles about trying to live out Christ’s call in a really tough neighborhood with his family and the immediate safety of his children and wife. I feel for him in this spiritual struggle. My personal struggle comes with the measures we as a society have taken to create a safe environment at the cost of community. 8 foot privacy fences, gated communities, surveillance cameras and lack of gathering places in neighborhoods have all thrown fuel on the fire in my mind.
I don’t want to put Kim and Ruthie in harms way, but something deep inside me says that there is greater danger in living a life that is free of risk. My favorite image of the church is that of a bird bath not a birdcage. The birdcage selects it’s pretty little birds, gives them all the toys they need and then shuts the door. Now think about a bird bath. Bird baths are open to raccoons, squirrels and crows who bath in the same water as the pretty birds. While the bird bath is more susceptible to massive amounts of crap, it’s a better picture of the church I want to be associated with.
under construction
the younger
