During our worship service this morning, 2 men wheeled in a casket to the front of the sanctuary as we transitioned from singing into the reading of the scripture. You could have heard a pin drop or you could of heard young mothers panic as the quickly explain the mysterious box to their children.

The casket is a powerful image to me and I began to cry when I thought about my grandfather and my friend Byron who are now both with Jesus. The scripture was Ephesians 2:1-10 where Paul is boldly talking about spiritual death and then life. The pastors stood over the casket as they preached ( we are Presbyterian folks, this is quite a shocking moment!) The most powerful image for me was the removal of the casket at the end of the service as we sang the words “sin has lost its power, death has lost its sting, from the grave You’ve risen, Victoriously.” This will be one of those worship services I won’t forget because of the powerful use of images.

As I leave for Sundance in the morning, I am prepared to see a week’s worth of images. I will see images speaking about euthanasia, poverty, fundamentalism, fighting and much more. I am excited to hear all these stories that are dying to be told and to dialogue with the storytellers. It has been my experience that some of life’s most sacred moments happen in secular settings.

