Fellow Blog Readers,
I need your help!
I have really been struggling between two philosophies of youth ministry as it pertains to programming. One way is to offer very few ministries for the students or the you can offer a wide variety of programming to help many different students connect. I thought that I really believed in the latter, but I’m not 100% convinced.

This video below is Malcolm Gladwell (Author of The Tipping Point) sharing his insight at the TED conference. Yes he is quirky and Yes it is 15 minutes long, BUT I think we in church leadership could really learn something from this.
(Ponder my questions after you watch the video)

1. People don’t really know what they want: whether it is spaghetti sauce or ministry style, we don’t really know what we like. Sure, some may know…but as much as I have been to worship and lead worship, I’m could be convinced that I truly don’t know what I “want” in a worship service much less a church. Before you faint, I do have some thoughts and ideas, but do I REALLY know what I want?
2. Horizontal Segmentation: There is no great or perfect mustard (youth ministry), there are only different kinds of mustard that suit different kinds of people. So do we offer several varieties or say “you won’t like what we have, go to the Methodist church down the street”?
3. Universal Principles- When we make universal assumptions about the people we serve (we know what they want) do we miss the mark in our churches? Have we embraced the diversity of our ministries and can we do so without having too many “ministries”?

The example I used today in a consultation (Kevin Ford met with us and suggested this video) was of the Chinese restaurant with 100 options verses the steak restaurant I have been to in Buena Vista, CO that literally tells you what you’ll be having. Both are extreme and both describe many of our churches and ministries.

Where do you fall in this discussion?

