anger-title-image_tcm7-187841

I would not call myself an angry person.
I am fairly sure those who know me would not call me angry either.

Yet, at a certain point with certain people I can feel anger welling up inside me. It can get me worked up, rob my sleep and completely sideline me. Anger does not manifest itself in my life through crashing cars or punching holes in walls. It is much more sneaky. So sneaky at points that I have no clue that I am being motivated or overcome by anger.

I do know this, it is imperative for me mentally and spiritually that I track down the root of my anger and deal with it. Why you ask? I have a tendency every now and again to let unresolved frustration grow beyond what the situation deserves. If someone has “done me wrong” I will eventually blame global warming, El Nino and any other disaster on them  if I don’t get to the root of the anger quickly. In the end, I allow certain people to have too much power in my life, which can lead to anger.

“Here’s a question every angry man and woman needs to consider: How long are you going to allow people you don’t even like — people who are no longer in your life, maybe even people who aren’t even alive anymore — to control your life? How long?”Andy Stanley

or this one gets right to the point about the outcome of anger…

“Of the seven deadly sins, Anger is possibly the most fun. To lick your wounds, to smack your lips over grievances long past, to roll over your tongue the prospect of bitter confrontations still to come, to savor to the last toothsome morsel both the pain you are given and the pain you are giving back– in many ways it is a feast fit for a king. The chief drawback is that what you are wolfing down is yourself. The skeleton at the feast is you.Frederick Buechner

Here is a biblical truth to mull over as you take inventory on the role anger may have in your life; where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom (2 Corinthians 3:17). 

May God’s Spirit reside so deep in our hearts that our anger and bitterness might never take root. And may God’s Spirit lead us to experience freedom and forgiveness in places where we were once slaves to our anger and resentment.

 

